How House of Leaves is Like Drugs

So I finished House of Leaves this past Sunday after reading it obsessively for about three days .  Since then I’ve been carrying a copy of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay with me wherever I go and I’m only about 150 pages in.  I really enjoy the book so far, but I just don’t seem to want to read that much since I finished House of Leaves.

Sometimes people who do potent drugs experience depression after coming down because they’ve used up too much of their body’s capacity to produce serotonin (at least I think that’s how it works).  I feel like House of Leaves used all the capacities I bring to bear to read a book to their full extent and the unfortunate result is that I’m kind of burned out on reading (and maybe writing).

I have a lot more to say about House of Leaves, but I think that will come in a later post, after I’ve recharged a bit.

Published in: on July 1, 2011 at 3:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chickenpiccatamundi.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/how-house-of-leaves-is-like-drugs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

